longing for a hat

Do you ever come across patterns that are slightly over your head but have the prettiest pictures and most enticing allure?  Happens to me all the time.  I love to ogle the beautiful knits I see online, even if there’s probably no way I could ever make some of them.  I found one recently, however, that I feel like is just barely out of my reach.  Check it out:

It’s a lovely neon ski bonnet!  And see the Ravelry page, with the maker looking so awesome while wearing it.  I want this so badly!  It would be perfect for Christmas in England — at least I think it would, does it get that cold in December there?  I don’t know, I’ve never been in the winter.

Anyway, This is the cutest ski bonnet, but I am unsure about making it.  I could do the cables on the front band easily enough (I think), but I’ve never tried the pattern of the back portion so it looks intimidating to me, along with the idea of having to knit pieces together, which I have never done before.  I am unsure of how to pick up stitches along the edge of one piece and attach it to another piece.  Well, I’m sure I’ll find out soon, because my wip Weasley sweater will call for that eventually, but I sure do hope it’s easy, because I can’t wait to at least try this!  Know of any good online tutorials or videos that might help me out?

As always, thanks for visiting!

9 thoughts on “longing for a hat

  1. Although I haven’t actually knitted this, it looks like its just a 2×2 rib and occasionally you will slip some stitches onto a cable needle and then just literally wrap the yarn around the stitches on the needle…it creates a really cool effect that looks hard but really isn’t! Good luck and remember-the only reason you are intimidated by a project is only because you haven’t done it yet! Good luck and let us know how it goes!

  2. I think it depends where in England you’re going as to how cold it will be. Down here in the South we might get a few cold days (-2/-3) at the peak of winter, but mostly between 0-5 in Dec/Jan I suppose. Further North is likely to be colder. Have fun here though! And picking up knitting isn’t that bad, I’m on my first knit project since re-teaching myself to knit and a quick chat to my fiancés Nan had me ready to try it as soon as I got home again, and it seemed to work fairly easily 🙂

  3. I do that all the time too! It’s a gorgeous little bonnet. As for English weather in December, it kind of depends on what you count as cold! Usually above minus figures (in C) but the last few winters have had some nasty harsh spells (-10?!). Go with rain for sure though. 😉

comment

